1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

NCAA Champions and Final Four Teams: 1939 - today

From the 1939 Oregon Ducks to the 2011 Connecticut Huskies


Tyler Hansbrough

North Carolina senior forward Tyler Hansbrough celebrates the Tar Heels' 2009 NCAA Championship

Getty Images / Gregory Shamus
Updated May 25, 2014
Here they are: the immortal teams of college hoops, from the 1939 Oregon Ducks -- with a starting five of Howard Hobson, John Dick, Urgel ‘Slim’ Wintermute, Laddie Gale, and Bobby Anet -- to the 2012 Kentucky Wildcats.

For each year since the NCAA Tournament's inception in 1939, we've listed the teams that reached the Final Four and the tournament runner-up. The champion is listed in bold.

The first batch includes all teams since 1985 -- the year the tournament expanded to include 64 teams and the year Rollie Massimino's Villanova Wildcats pulled one of the biggest upsets in the history of March Madness, knocking off Patrick Ewing and the Georgetown Hoyas to win the title.

NCAA Champions and Final Four Teams, 1985 - present

Year Final Four Final Four Opponent Champion
2012 Ohio State Louisville Kansas Kentucky
2011 Virginia Commonwealth Kentucky Butler Connecticut
2010 Michigan State West Virginia Butler Duke
2009 Connecticut Villanova Michigan State North Carolina
2008 UCLA North Carolina Memphis Kansas
2007 UCLA Georgetown Ohio State Florida
2006 George Mason LSU UCLA Florida
2005 Michigan State Louisville Illinois North Carolina
2004 Duke Oklahoma State Georgia Tech Connecticut
2003 Texas Marquette Kansas Syracuse
2002 Kansas Oklahoma Indiana Maryland
2001 Maryland Michigan State Arizona Duke
2000 Wisconsin North Carolina Florida Michigan State
1999 Ohio State Michigan State Duke Connecticut
1998 Stanford North Carolina Utah Kentucky
1997 North Carolina Minnesota Kentucky Arizona
1996 Massachusetts Mississippi State Syracuse Kentucky
1995 Oklahoma State North Carolina Arkansas UCLA
1994 Arizona Florida Duke Arkansas
1993 Kansas Kentucky Michigan North Carolina
1992 Indiana Cincinnati Michigan Duke
1991 UNLV North Carolina Kansas Duke
1990 Georgia Tech Arkansas Duke UNLV
1989 Illinois Duke Seton Hall Michigan
1988 Duke Arizona Oklahoma Kansas
1987 UNLV Providence Syracuse Indiana
1986 LSU Kansas Duke Louisville
1985 Memphis State St. John's Georgetown Villanova
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. NBA
  4. College Basketball
  5. NCAA Tournament
  6. NCAA Tournament Champions
  7. NCAA Champions and Final Four Teams: 1985 - 2011

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.